6 Acknowledgements

The author holds an NSERC University Faculty Award and is supported by a Discovery Grant. She thanks Michael Kramer, George Hobbs, and Zaven Arzoumanian for careful readings of the manuscript, Duncan Lorimer for generously sharing his keyworded reference list, and Gilles Esposito-Farèse, Michael Kramer, Joe Taylor, Steve Thorsett, Willem van Straten, and Joel Weisberg for allowing reproduction of figures from their work. The Arecibo Observatory, a facility of the National Astronomy and Ionosphere Center, is operated by Cornell University under a cooperative agreement with the National Science Foundation. The National Radio Astronomy Observatory is a facility of the National Science Foundation operated under cooperative agreement by Associated Universities, Inc. The Parkes radio telescope is part of the Australia Telescope which is funded by the Commonwealth of Australia for operation as a National Facility managed by CSIRO.

  Go to previous page Go up